First Week: Post Pneumonia

I’ve been cleared to run again.  My lungs are “clear,” even though I still have a lingering cough.  But that’s apparently normal.  My kids have also shared a cold with my wife and I, although I’m only experiencing very mild symptoms.  Comes with the territory with children in public school.   Anyway, I started back very light training.  About 10% of my normal volume. I can tell my lungs are still healing, but my legs still feel strong, so that makes me hopeful.  

Here’s a few things I’ve learned the past couple months:

Patience: Certain things are beyond your control.  And some things take time.  Whether an injury or sickness, you have to take time.  It’s not a secret that I’m an anxious person.  (Ok, I’m also a hypochondriac).  And running helps this a lot.  Not being able to run or spend time on the trails is difficult.  So is thinking you’ve got a heart problem or some rare cancer.  

Take Care:  We’ve all heard that our body is a temple.  If we don’t take care of ourselves we will suffer.  Maybe not now, but as we age it will catch up to you. It’s good to listen to your body, if you don’t think you should do something, then you shouldn’t do it.  Rest is important, and it’s important to control stress and anxiety.  Easier said than done, Ryan.

Emergen-C does not make me Superman:  As much as I would love to fly around in tights, Emergen-C didn’t do jack to keep me from getting sick.  Kids share germs.  I will get over it.

My week (Saturday-Friday) Not much to say, because it wasn’t that exciting.

Saturday Dec 15th: 1.8 miles

First run.  Felt horrible.  Actually, my legs felt good, but my lungs burned.

Monday Dec 17th: 2.05 miles

Felt a little better.  Lungs still burned. But, not quite as bad.  

Tuesday Dec 18th: 1.75 miles

Decided to see what I felt like running a 7:00 min/pace.  It didn’t feel good. 

Saturday Dec 21st: 4 miles (trail, only 300′ ascent)

I was itching to get on the trails, so I did.  Mainly because I wanted to tryout my new Montrail Fairhaven trail shoes.  (Review coming soon, I’m sure you all are thrilled). It felt really good to be on the trails.  Despite having some mild cold symptoms my breathing and lungs felt better today.  I had some problems on the climbs, and I think that has to do with my loss of fitness. I can see some sustained hill runs in my future.  My legs felt good.  I didn’t want to push it, even though it still felt like I had to push a little even on a short-short 4 mile run.  I know with time, I’ll develop back into my previous shape.  And my volume will increase.  

   Image

Total: a whopping 9.6 miles and 1hr:32min of training.  

Leave a Reply

