Top Albums of 2012

It seems that my musical taste has become quite eclectic, ranging from metal to ambient/drone. I’ve listened to hundreds of bands this year, and a lot of bands deserve to be on this list.  I will just post some of the albums that have been continuously played throughout the year.

 Although, I’ve been listening to quite a bit of metal and post-metal lately.  This year has proved to be an interesting year musically.  I’ll place a link to a song from each album.  I hope you all take the time to listen to a song.  These are albums I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this year. This is in no particular order:

Image 
Aussitot Mort “Nagykanizsa”  

A metal/post-hardcore band from France.  Reminds me a bit of a heavier mewithoutyou (from the early days) especially in the throaty/emotional vocals.  This was one of the first albums I got this year, and it’s been playing throughout the year.  

 Image

Further Seems Forever “Penny Black”

Earlier this year, I had no idea this band was even back together, let alone releasing a new album.  To my surprise, they were back together, and this album was just released a couple months ago.  This is everything I remember of old FSF, and it seems like they picked up right where The Moon Is Down left off.

 Image

Aeges “The Bridge”

Yeah, this may be filed under a “guilty pleasure” album.  But, I can’t help it.  These are some catchy tunes.  The songs are written in a verse/chorus/verse/bridge style.  Reminds me quite a bit of a heavier/sludge-y Foo Fighters.  

Image

Krallice “Years Past Matter”

This was a surprising album.  You can place this in an experimental, progressive black metal bucket.  At first listen, it sounded like it would just be a bunch of guitar wankery, but it wasn’t.  The musicianship is technical and spot on, not at all sloppy.  The production is good for the genre, which gives it a clean sound.  

Image

Baroness “Yellow and Green”

This is the third album from this group, and I’ve been a fan since their Red album.  This album is actually a double release, and is not quite as heavy as previous releases, but still a great stoner rock and straight up rock n’ roll album.  

Image

Minus The Bear “Infinity Overhead”

I’ve been a fan of this band since their first release, and i’m still a fan with this release.  This is a solid indie rock album.  Still not as math rock-esque as older releases.  This band brings back memories of nighttime summer drives with the windows down and hair blowing in the breeze.  

Image

Invalids “Eunoia” 

So, I’m not a big fan of off-the-wall guitar wankery, but this album is an exception.  This is straight up (spazzy) math rock.  This is one of the more fun releases I had the opportunity to listen too this year.  

Honorable Mentions:

  • Balmorhea “Stranger”
  • Caspian “Waking Season”
  • Circa Survive “Violent Waves”
  • The  Contortionist “Intrinsic”
  • The Calm Blue Sea “Arrivals and Departures”

Most Disappointing

  • mewithoutyou “Ten Stories”
  • Between The Buried and Me “The Parallax II: Future Sequence”  *A note about this: It’s not that this was a bad album, but I guess I’m sort of getting bored with this style of music.  
  • Muse  “The Second Law”  

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

